Skip to main content

Another week in review

Wow, times flies when you don't have anything to blog about. Or, more accurately, when you're sidelined with what the sports world calls "flu-like symptoms".

Now I'm feeling great, thanks to some rest, my mom, and the culinary brilliance of Chili's To Go. What did I miss?

1. The Final Four were chosen. Called out from among mere men, the Final Four rose forth, shaking the Earth in their illustrious...sorry. I mean, I really have been inside too long.

Florida. Georgetown. Ohio State. UCLA. Who had them picked? I didn't, but it's not hard to imagine that thousands of fans did. Georgetown is the closest to being a surprise, but even they were a No. 2 seed in an up-for-grabs regional. John, go ahead and tell us you had Georgetown making it this far. Seriously. We're dying to know. (As you can see, I'm not bitter at all. Actually, I'm...well, I'll get to that at No. 2. Suffice it to say I have still never won an NCAA tournment contest of any kind.)

I think the lineup of teams is interesting, but I don't think it's too meaningful either way. My first post on this blog was about how sick I was of hearing about Cinderella teams, many of whom lose big after that inspiring two-game winning streak into the Sweet Sixteen. In a way, it's nice to see great teams taking every spot. Hopefully, it means there are three great games left to go.

Of course, the novelty of an unknown on the national stage is a nice thing too. Is it going away? The pessimist could argue that the new professional age limit is really only going to help major programs, who can now feature players that in years past would have already been in the NBA. I don't think this is true now, but it's possible.

I'm just glad college basketball lets the small schools play on the same floor as the big ones. They could just scrap the tournament altogether and let the most-hyped squads play in exhibitions two months after the season, you know.

2. Actually, I'm...(cont.) not that upset about North Carolina's tourney loss. Maybe I'm getting soft. Maybe it's that they won it all so recently, and the shot at another title so soon felt like a gift anyway. Or maybe the Tar Heels just completely fell apart and have no one to blame but themselves.

Georgetown dominated them down the stretch, and the Tar Heels were happy to play along, taking horrible shots and ignoring their post men in the halfcourt. They choked, but they probably weren't really contenders to begin with. Like the 2005-06 Broncos, I got too excited, but the titles would have been a little unexpected anyway. They didn't lose on a bad call or anything. I can live with that.

The part about it that really bothered me was a trash-talking phone call from a friend who recently became an N.C. State fan. (Don't ask me why.) Something about how the Tar Heels always fold under pressure, especially Tyler Hansbrough, who was only the game's leading scorer with 26 points and matched Hoya Roy "Julius" Hibbert's game-high 11 boards. Hansbrough's not my favorite player or anything, but geez, what do you want from him?

You're right, though, it's not as good as finishing tenth in a 12-team conference or nabbing that 6 seed in the NIT.

3. Broncos sign Dre Bly. Man, this post is getting long. So the Broncos signed Dre Bly to a seemingly reasonable five-year, $33 million deal. (By the way, the linked article is incredibly short, but I'm hopeful the Denver Post will fix it overnight before you read this.)

Is the NFL's free agency spending spree over? I don't know. I can't make sense of the deals under the new cap. $33 million still sounds like a ton of money for a No. 2 corner. But I'm glad he's signed, happy the distraction's gone, and I'm looking forward to seeing what a gambler can do opposite a Champ.

Comments

David said…
I'm looking forward to seeing what a gambler can do opposite a Champ

kenny rogers is playing opposite of champ? now this i gotta see
Bro T said…
Somebody is Raleigh has a Basketball Jones?
Mike said…
Ouch. But yeah, he does.

Popular posts from this blog

And now that it’s gone, it’s like it wasn’t there at all

I never thought this blog would last longer than Jay Cutler's career with the Denver Broncos. He was a talented young prospect so good that the Broncos, a powerhouse organization only one game removed from the Super Bowl the season before, traded up to get him—or, in other words, a player whose upside was so huge, the team sacrificed its present to get his future. And now? He's gone . How did it come to this? * * * Often I'll play devil's advocate with a move like this; you know, I'll try and explain how it makes sense from the other side of the table. Today, during the most disastrous Broncos offseason in memory—and the draft hasn't even happened yet, so settle in—I just don't have it in me. I don't think move is really defensible from a football standpoint. But what the heck: as the article above says, the Broncos are sending Cutler and a fifth-round draft pick this month to the Chicago Bears for quarterback Kyle Orton, Chicago's first-rounder in t...

Who cares?

So we finally got done with the NBA playoffs after nearly two months of stretched-out play, and tomorrow's the draft. I really couldn't care less. I'm so burned out on the sport. Sadly, there's nothing else going on worth mentioning, so we might as well get into it. (Yes, baseball, Pugs, but I haven't really started following that this year yet, sorry.) Would the NFL hold its draft five days after the Super Bowl? Of course not, and not just because the league doesn't want to distract from the highlight of its annual calendar, the Pro Bowl. Of course, the NBA's situation is a little different. College play ended two and a half months ago, and the teams want to get draftees ready for the all-important summer league play (because the kind of guys that need the summer league always end up players). Not that when college basketball is over is relevant, anyway-the league is overrun by a bunch of high school players "just months removed from their prom" (...

Did CU ever win the Pac-12?

In 2010, I bet a college buddy of mine (who longtime readers may remember as the only other contributor to Hole Punch Sports) that CU’s football team would not win the Pac-12 in the next 15 years. Guess what? It’s time for me to gloat, because I was right. Why we were doomed Back in the day, a lot of people made the argument that CU should join the Pac-12 because we’d get so much more TV money there. Of course, given college football is the answer to the question, “what if you had a sport where multiple teams were like the Yankees, and you created a whole universe of haves and have-nots?”, then yeah, you want to be aligned with some of the haves. But the question in my mind wasn’t, “will CU be better off with more money?” That’s an obvious yes. The question I asked was, will CU be any more competitive in their own conference if they’re competing against teams who are also getting more money? I couldn’t see why they would be. The mathematical angle Legend has it that Cowboys runn...