Skip to main content

Copyright, the NFL, and YouTube

You pander to one reader, you've got to pander to the other.

And so my attention turns to a potential copyright violation by the NFL. If you haven't heard, a law professor named Wendy Seltzer posted a video clip of the copyright notice that aired at the end of the Super Bowl on YouTube. The NFL said, "Hey! Copying our copyright notice is copyright infringement!" and sent YouTube a notice to take it down. YouTube took it down.

Since she's a law professor, and this was intended for educational purposes, Seltzer figured it was fair use, and counter-notified YouTube. (The blog article where I first saw this link to her blog several times, and you can find more/better details there.) The NFL again asked YouTube to take it down, ignoring the fair use notice. Seltzer argues that, under the Digital Millenium Copyright Act, that the NFL's request was, itself, illegal.

That's pretty much the whole story. It's not big news so much as it is cute, but it'd be funny if the NFL got in some kind of legal trouble for this.

I also like it because its goes along well with some things I've read lately. Basically, I think copyright law, and especially the DMCA (I like the term "Domination by Media Corporations Act"), goes too far in many cases. It's just nice to see a big company punished for once.

I'm not sure why the NFL and other sports organzations/figures are so bothered by YouTube in the first place. I loved being able to look up Walter Payton highlights or Steve Atwater's hit on Christian Okoye last year. Granted, their No. 1 goal isn't making me happy, but I didn't see the harm considering I'd have a hard time buying that stuff even if I wanted to. I don't know if anyone's read Mark Cuban's blog lately, but the man is definitely losing his mind over YouTube. I don't get it. He got lucky and got rich on the Internet-why does he hate it so much when someone else does the same?

Comments

John said…
Marvelous pandering. I can't believe the NFL noticed or cared that its copyright notice was posted on YouTube, but, then again, I know lots of big companies that get all obsessive about their intellectual property rights. What's even more baffling is how a posting on YouTube can be educational - I mean, posting on a class website or a professor's blog might qualify, but posting on YouTube seems like a stretch.

I'm afriad YouTube's days as a free site are numbered - pretty soon, it will have to pull a Napster, make a deal with the copyright holders, and start charging. Which, as you say, is unfortunate, because I don't see the NFL (or any other sport league) going out of its way to make old highlights available to fans.
Mike said…
Well, using YouTube makes sense, as they pay for all the bandwidth, etc. It could have been that she put it on YouTube and then embedded it in her own site...which, it turns out, is exactly what she did.

You can see her post here, though the clip is still down on that page.

I don't know if that matters in terms of the legal argument and, of course, it seems like she was trying to pick a fight here. Fine with me, but how does that play in court, Cap?

Napster...good ol' Napster. You have to love that "incompatible with iPod" strategy.
David said…
mark cubans blog was about as interesting as reading steven hawking's love letters.

Popular posts from this blog

And now that it’s gone, it’s like it wasn’t there at all

I never thought this blog would last longer than Jay Cutler's career with the Denver Broncos. He was a talented young prospect so good that the Broncos, a powerhouse organization only one game removed from the Super Bowl the season before, traded up to get him—or, in other words, a player whose upside was so huge, the team sacrificed its present to get his future. And now? He's gone . How did it come to this? * * * Often I'll play devil's advocate with a move like this; you know, I'll try and explain how it makes sense from the other side of the table. Today, during the most disastrous Broncos offseason in memory—and the draft hasn't even happened yet, so settle in—I just don't have it in me. I don't think move is really defensible from a football standpoint. But what the heck: as the article above says, the Broncos are sending Cutler and a fifth-round draft pick this month to the Chicago Bears for quarterback Kyle Orton, Chicago's first-rounder in t...

Who cares?

So we finally got done with the NBA playoffs after nearly two months of stretched-out play, and tomorrow's the draft. I really couldn't care less. I'm so burned out on the sport. Sadly, there's nothing else going on worth mentioning, so we might as well get into it. (Yes, baseball, Pugs, but I haven't really started following that this year yet, sorry.) Would the NFL hold its draft five days after the Super Bowl? Of course not, and not just because the league doesn't want to distract from the highlight of its annual calendar, the Pro Bowl. Of course, the NBA's situation is a little different. College play ended two and a half months ago, and the teams want to get draftees ready for the all-important summer league play (because the kind of guys that need the summer league always end up players). Not that when college basketball is over is relevant, anyway-the league is overrun by a bunch of high school players "just months removed from their prom" (...

Did CU ever win the Pac-12?

In 2010, I bet a college buddy of mine (who longtime readers may remember as the only other contributor to Hole Punch Sports) that CU’s football team would not win the Pac-12 in the next 15 years. Guess what? It’s time for me to gloat, because I was right. Why we were doomed Back in the day, a lot of people made the argument that CU should join the Pac-12 because we’d get so much more TV money there. Of course, given college football is the answer to the question, “what if you had a sport where multiple teams were like the Yankees, and you created a whole universe of haves and have-nots?”, then yeah, you want to be aligned with some of the haves. But the question in my mind wasn’t, “will CU be better off with more money?” That’s an obvious yes. The question I asked was, will CU be any more competitive in their own conference if they’re competing against teams who are also getting more money? I couldn’t see why they would be. The mathematical angle Legend has it that Cowboys runn...