Skip to main content

Broncos sign Pat Ramsey

That's funny, just the other day I was wondering what ever happened to former Redskins quarterback Patrick Ramsey. I didn't wonder enough to find out, but I guess I will now. The Broncos just signed Ramsey to a two-year contract worth $5 million.

Considering how this offseason has gone, that is a terrific value. What does Ramsey bring to the table? Statistically, you'd be tempted to say, "not much". He likes to throw short (career 6.6 yards per attempt) but still can't connect on very many passes (55.7 career completion percentage). A quarterback who can't throw is worrisome.

But he was thrown in the fire as a young player, and showed some improvement over time. Honestly, I didn't see him play much, but I do remember hearing his toughness praised, which is cool.

He'll make a solid backup quarterback, and I'm glad the Broncos made that a priority. Don't get me wrong. Jay Cutler & Pat "sy" Ramsey are a downgrade from Jake Plummer & Cutler, for sure. But none of that's Ramsey's fault, and now at least we're not hopeless if Cutler falters or gets injured.

As a side note, I just love Len Pasquarelli's stories. That man is flat-out paid by the word. Not by the interview, though.

Blessed with a strong arm and solid pocket presence, Ramsey has suffered from being overcoached at times and, certainly during his tenure under coach Joe Gibbs in Washington, he was mishandled and lost confidence.

What? When I was in journalism school, they told us we had to use quotes if we wanted to say stuff like that. You can't just throw your opinion in the middle of a news story like that. I guess if it's true and well-known, you could just come out and say it...but I didn't know with certainty that Ramsey was "mishandled".

The Broncos will be Ramsey's third team in three seasons, but one of the reasons he settled on Denver as his new home is the overall stability of the organization and the chance to settle in with a franchise and coaching staff he respects.

Okay, there is no possible way Pasquarelli knew that without talking to somebody, right? Is he ashamed of the conversation of some reason? Pasquarelli churns out an obscene amount of material for ESPN.com, and it'd be possible to say he forgot to use a quote, but he does that all the time. I'm not really half as bitter as I'm making myself sound right now. I just think it's funny.

Comments

John said…
I am fine with this signing. It is not enough to get me excited, but at least we have a solid ack-up now, and at far less the price than keeping Plummer would have cost us.

Ditto on Pasquerelli. I think a huge problem is that he recycles so much content, either his own or someone else's. But a quotation or cite to a source would be a welcome improvement on espn.com.
David said…
i think his problem is is adiposity. if he gets any bigger, they'll need a whole page for his thumbnail pick.

ZING.

re: ramsey.
great, the last thing colorado needs is another ramsey in the news.

Popular posts from this blog

And now that it’s gone, it’s like it wasn’t there at all

I never thought this blog would last longer than Jay Cutler's career with the Denver Broncos. He was a talented young prospect so good that the Broncos, a powerhouse organization only one game removed from the Super Bowl the season before, traded up to get him—or, in other words, a player whose upside was so huge, the team sacrificed its present to get his future. And now? He's gone . How did it come to this? * * * Often I'll play devil's advocate with a move like this; you know, I'll try and explain how it makes sense from the other side of the table. Today, during the most disastrous Broncos offseason in memory—and the draft hasn't even happened yet, so settle in—I just don't have it in me. I don't think move is really defensible from a football standpoint. But what the heck: as the article above says, the Broncos are sending Cutler and a fifth-round draft pick this month to the Chicago Bears for quarterback Kyle Orton, Chicago's first-rounder in t...

Who cares?

So we finally got done with the NBA playoffs after nearly two months of stretched-out play, and tomorrow's the draft. I really couldn't care less. I'm so burned out on the sport. Sadly, there's nothing else going on worth mentioning, so we might as well get into it. (Yes, baseball, Pugs, but I haven't really started following that this year yet, sorry.) Would the NFL hold its draft five days after the Super Bowl? Of course not, and not just because the league doesn't want to distract from the highlight of its annual calendar, the Pro Bowl. Of course, the NBA's situation is a little different. College play ended two and a half months ago, and the teams want to get draftees ready for the all-important summer league play (because the kind of guys that need the summer league always end up players). Not that when college basketball is over is relevant, anyway-the league is overrun by a bunch of high school players "just months removed from their prom" (...

Did CU ever win the Pac-12?

In 2010, I bet a college buddy of mine (who longtime readers may remember as the only other contributor to Hole Punch Sports) that CU’s football team would not win the Pac-12 in the next 15 years. Guess what? It’s time for me to gloat, because I was right. Why we were doomed Back in the day, a lot of people made the argument that CU should join the Pac-12 because we’d get so much more TV money there. Of course, given college football is the answer to the question, “what if you had a sport where multiple teams were like the Yankees, and you created a whole universe of haves and have-nots?”, then yeah, you want to be aligned with some of the haves. But the question in my mind wasn’t, “will CU be better off with more money?” That’s an obvious yes. The question I asked was, will CU be any more competitive in their own conference if they’re competing against teams who are also getting more money? I couldn’t see why they would be. The mathematical angle Legend has it that Cowboys runn...