Skip to main content

2008 Dream Team

USA Basketball just announced its team for the 2008 Olympics.

The roster, broken down by positions:

C: Dwight Howard
PF: Chris Bosh, Carlos Boozer
SF: LeBron James, Carmelo Anthony, Tayshaun Prince
SG: Kobe Bryant, Dwyane Wade, Michael Redd
PG: Jason Kidd, Chris Paul, Deron Williams

One question remains: could we have put one more swingman on the team? We definitely need more scoring at the 2 and the 3. (Yes, that is a joke.)

To me this roster shows what we've learned from our past few Olympic teams: absolutely nothing. I especially like the choice of Tayshuan Prince, which is clearly just a nod towards the general direction of the idea of building an actual "team". Don't get me wrong; there's a ton of talent here. But so much of it cancels other players out. For example, I love Carmelo (see below), but does a team with Kobe, LeBron, and D-Wade really need the scoring he brings to the table?

Having three point guards is actually justifiable, because you have a starter and a backup even if someone goes down. Plus, unlike in past years with guys like Scottie Pippen, none of the twos and threes on this team can really cover at point. Overall, though, this team is very perimeter-heavy.

I worry about the lack of inside depth. Some jerk might tell you this is a wise move because international ball is different or something. Well, that's the whole reason we need inside power! It's one area where the U.S. can still have an advantage. Unfortunately Amare Stoudemire withdrew himself from consideration, and I think Tim Duncan said before that he's done with international ball. Still, what about a David West or even Antawn Jamison? I'm not a huge Tyson Chandler fan, but he makes some sense, too: what will this team do if Howard gets in foul trouble against a team with some inside presence?

I worry that this edition of the U.S. Olympic team will still be too inclined to go one-on-one and doesn't have a good balance of depth. I've always rooted for the U.S., even when it was somehow considered unfair to send our best players (where did that come from, anyway?). This team will be no exception. I hope they get the gold, but I wonder. What do you think?

Comments

blaine said…
I'm actually really encouraged by our team this year. I think adding Howard and Prince will help out on defense a ton. I've always wondered why don't they invite someone like Bruce Bowen who they can stick on the others team's best player? I think Prince can/will essentially fill that role.

I think Chris Paul will have a bigger impact than any other player on the team. He's the best point guard in the league and will manage the team better than any other point guard in the league could.

I agree that they need another center, and in my opinion they should leave behind Kidd. Even if Paul or Williams were to get injured (or get into foul trouble) then James, Bryant, or Wade could fill in at point. So why not bring someone like Camby for rebounding and shot blocking? With Howard and/or Camby in the middle the international teams would be way to scared to take the ball inside.

on a side note:

It's interesting how much harder Melo played for Coach K than for Bzdelik or Karl. Coach K has been effusive in his compliments of Melo's play. He said that "He plays with courage at BOTH ends of the court." http://www.usatoday.com/sports/olympics/2007-08-23-anthonhy-national_N.htmWhy can't Karl get him to play like that?
Mike said…
I have no problem with Prince, and he's exactly the kind of player I wish we had more of. The problem is that the role players on our international teams never seem to see the floor that much, so they end up not mattering.

I agree that Paul's play is critical. I guess I sort of already said it but I disagree that James or Bryant could play the point well for stretches. Bryant does not have the mindset; LeBron used to but I don't see it much lately. Wade could do it, maybe.

That article is hilarious because Carmelo Yellow talked about wanting to dominate, not embarrass, when in reality the U.S. is usually lucky to go for either one these days. Anyway, if he has a hard time playing hard for Coach Karl I think that's his problem. Obviously Karl has to deal with it but you never hear about how Jordan or Iverson or whichever other great player would slack off depending on who's on the sidelines, you know?
blaine said…
Yeah, that's a good point. I guess it just annoys me because Karl seems so nonchalant about coaching these days even if we're getting killed. I seem to remember Karl benching Melo for stretches his first couple of years with the Nuggets, what happened? Am I remembering wrong? That might be just the motivational push Melo needs. (Of course, it could backfire too and cause Anthony to demand a trade or something.)
Mike said…
For the record, I think we could use some better jump-shooters, too. This has been a problem on our last few teams.

Karl definitely used to be harsher on Melo. I remember hearing how much he'd lightened up last year (because of health problems and aging and whatever else) and was happier as a result. Hey, good for him, but I think the team could use some of the old intensity.

Popular posts from this blog

And now that it’s gone, it’s like it wasn’t there at all

I never thought this blog would last longer than Jay Cutler's career with the Denver Broncos. He was a talented young prospect so good that the Broncos, a powerhouse organization only one game removed from the Super Bowl the season before, traded up to get him—or, in other words, a player whose upside was so huge, the team sacrificed its present to get his future. And now? He's gone . How did it come to this? * * * Often I'll play devil's advocate with a move like this; you know, I'll try and explain how it makes sense from the other side of the table. Today, during the most disastrous Broncos offseason in memory—and the draft hasn't even happened yet, so settle in—I just don't have it in me. I don't think move is really defensible from a football standpoint. But what the heck: as the article above says, the Broncos are sending Cutler and a fifth-round draft pick this month to the Chicago Bears for quarterback Kyle Orton, Chicago's first-rounder in t...

Who cares?

So we finally got done with the NBA playoffs after nearly two months of stretched-out play, and tomorrow's the draft. I really couldn't care less. I'm so burned out on the sport. Sadly, there's nothing else going on worth mentioning, so we might as well get into it. (Yes, baseball, Pugs, but I haven't really started following that this year yet, sorry.) Would the NFL hold its draft five days after the Super Bowl? Of course not, and not just because the league doesn't want to distract from the highlight of its annual calendar, the Pro Bowl. Of course, the NBA's situation is a little different. College play ended two and a half months ago, and the teams want to get draftees ready for the all-important summer league play (because the kind of guys that need the summer league always end up players). Not that when college basketball is over is relevant, anyway-the league is overrun by a bunch of high school players "just months removed from their prom" (...

Did CU ever win the Pac-12?

In 2010, I bet a college buddy of mine (who longtime readers may remember as the only other contributor to Hole Punch Sports) that CU’s football team would not win the Pac-12 in the next 15 years. Guess what? It’s time for me to gloat, because I was right. Why we were doomed Back in the day, a lot of people made the argument that CU should join the Pac-12 because we’d get so much more TV money there. Of course, given college football is the answer to the question, “what if you had a sport where multiple teams were like the Yankees, and you created a whole universe of haves and have-nots?”, then yeah, you want to be aligned with some of the haves. But the question in my mind wasn’t, “will CU be better off with more money?” That’s an obvious yes. The question I asked was, will CU be any more competitive in their own conference if they’re competing against teams who are also getting more money? I couldn’t see why they would be. The mathematical angle Legend has it that Cowboys runn...