Skip to main content

Miami wins Game Four

Six thoughts:

1. Is Jerry Stackhouse blind? He knows that was Shaq he knocked over, right? I understand Shaq’s not the player he once was, but he’s still seven-feet-plus and three-hundred-pounds-plus, and Stackhouse is still a talent-wasting pansy. Actually, Stack was tough after getting his face bashed in Game One, but after his cheap shot, he spent the rest of tonight’s game shrinking from contact. It was most evident when he bricked a dunk instead of challenging Alonzo Mourning directly-though avoiding that sure hit was probably his smartest move of the evening.

2. Maybe it is in his head after all. Dirk Nowitzki put up a Valentine’s Day, going 2-14 from the field. He spent more time on the arena floor than a Zamboni, begging for-and getting-a number of ridiculous bail-out calls. Vlade Divac reportedly called the Dirk in the locker room at halftime to berate him for “playing like a woman”. The officiating tonight was pretty shady-hmmm, what are the odds of that with Dick Bavetta present?-but Nowitzki couldn’t take advantage.

3. Speaking of the officiating... That really was one of the most poorly-reffed Finals game I’ve ever seen. For a while there in the second half, the Mavericks got every single call. While I’m not usually big on reactionary rules changes, something has to be done about the blocking and charging calls, which Jake Plummer laughs at and calls inconsistent.

My friend Jason put it best when he compared the game to an old copy of NBA Live, which had a setting to let the losing team back into the game, invariably with the most egregious calls and bounces.

4. Miami shut up and played. Dallas didn’t. I thought Miami would go on a huge run immediately after Shaq got knocked over, but it didn’t happen for another quarter. Either way, the Mavs were shell-shocked. The only Dallas player who didn’t wet himself was Jason Terry-but, like his teammates, he should have just left for the locker room after the third quarter ended.

5. Shaq is back. No, he didn’t even crack 20, but he’s more active than he’s been in years and was very efficient from the field. I loved watching him abuse Ericka Dampier on the low block.

6. Dwyane Wade, Dwyane Wade, Dwyane Wade. Wade’s 36 points were more than twice as many as anyone else had-and yet, his night wasn’t especially memorable. Maybe he can carry the Heat for two more games.

Comments

Mike said…
Ha ha ha ha ha. That's awesome.

I didn't hear Shaq said that-I'm glad I did know. That guy's hilarious-I almost regret how much I hated him as a Laker.

After we'd watched for about a quarter, I turned to Jonesy and asked him how many times Dirk had hit the ground-I estimated about six. Sure, I've been knocked to the ground a bunch of times playing hoops...but on jump shots?
Mike said…
Good question. I think I got it from my parents. (Mom, Dad, if you're reading this, I need money.)

Popular posts from this blog

And now that it’s gone, it’s like it wasn’t there at all

I never thought this blog would last longer than Jay Cutler's career with the Denver Broncos. He was a talented young prospect so good that the Broncos, a powerhouse organization only one game removed from the Super Bowl the season before, traded up to get him—or, in other words, a player whose upside was so huge, the team sacrificed its present to get his future. And now? He's gone . How did it come to this? * * * Often I'll play devil's advocate with a move like this; you know, I'll try and explain how it makes sense from the other side of the table. Today, during the most disastrous Broncos offseason in memory—and the draft hasn't even happened yet, so settle in—I just don't have it in me. I don't think move is really defensible from a football standpoint. But what the heck: as the article above says, the Broncos are sending Cutler and a fifth-round draft pick this month to the Chicago Bears for quarterback Kyle Orton, Chicago's first-rounder in t...

Who cares?

So we finally got done with the NBA playoffs after nearly two months of stretched-out play, and tomorrow's the draft. I really couldn't care less. I'm so burned out on the sport. Sadly, there's nothing else going on worth mentioning, so we might as well get into it. (Yes, baseball, Pugs, but I haven't really started following that this year yet, sorry.) Would the NFL hold its draft five days after the Super Bowl? Of course not, and not just because the league doesn't want to distract from the highlight of its annual calendar, the Pro Bowl. Of course, the NBA's situation is a little different. College play ended two and a half months ago, and the teams want to get draftees ready for the all-important summer league play (because the kind of guys that need the summer league always end up players). Not that when college basketball is over is relevant, anyway-the league is overrun by a bunch of high school players "just months removed from their prom" (...

Did CU ever win the Pac-12?

In 2010, I bet a college buddy of mine (who longtime readers may remember as the only other contributor to Hole Punch Sports) that CU’s football team would not win the Pac-12 in the next 15 years. Guess what? It’s time for me to gloat, because I was right. Why we were doomed Back in the day, a lot of people made the argument that CU should join the Pac-12 because we’d get so much more TV money there. Of course, given college football is the answer to the question, “what if you had a sport where multiple teams were like the Yankees, and you created a whole universe of haves and have-nots?”, then yeah, you want to be aligned with some of the haves. But the question in my mind wasn’t, “will CU be better off with more money?” That’s an obvious yes. The question I asked was, will CU be any more competitive in their own conference if they’re competing against teams who are also getting more money? I couldn’t see why they would be. The mathematical angle Legend has it that Cowboys runn...