Skip to main content

Vick plays

Perhaps I was too quick to judge the Eagles’ coaching staff, who not only let Mike Vick get a bit of PT last night, but also lined him up at wide receiver, though he didn’t catch a pass. If you’re interested, check out his highlights on NFL.com. I particularly liked his pass to Hank Baskett…nice accuracy, placing the ball away from the defender.

I did catch part of his postgame interview last night, and he sure is confident, talking about how he can do it all. I was a little surprised by that, but perhaps I shouldn’t have been. I guess I thought prison would humble a man. Anyway, I’m now really looking forward to seeing how the Eagles will use him this season.

Comments

John said…
I saw those highlights last night, and thought Vick looked far more comfortable in the pocket than I expected. His throws were well-placed. Just goes to show how much natural ability he has.

I actually took what he said about "the sky's a limit" as a more team-oriented statement. I think he desperately wants to play quarterback again, but is willing to test his limits at other positions in exchange for a chance to play. The old Vick came off as much more cocky than the guy last night, and I thought prison had humbled him a little bit.
David said…
http://www.denverpost.com/recommended/ci_13222721

marshall wants to be a punter.
Mike said…
John, you may be right. I literally flipped onto him saying he could do it all and he could do it all before and may have been too rash. But, looking at quotes, I'm still a little surprised.

Pugs, thanks for the link. Marshall is acting awfully petulant. It seems like just the other day I was saying that this rookie could be a player...now he's already decided to take power tools to his welcome and force a trade or whatever. I wouldn't want to be on this team really, either, but he's handling it in a bizarre though entertaining way.
John said…
Maybe Marshall is just doing his best Ochocinco imitation - distracting his teammates, becoming a liability off the field, and aspiring to take over kicking duties.

Popular posts from this blog

And now that it’s gone, it’s like it wasn’t there at all

I never thought this blog would last longer than Jay Cutler's career with the Denver Broncos. He was a talented young prospect so good that the Broncos, a powerhouse organization only one game removed from the Super Bowl the season before, traded up to get him—or, in other words, a player whose upside was so huge, the team sacrificed its present to get his future. And now? He's gone . How did it come to this? * * * Often I'll play devil's advocate with a move like this; you know, I'll try and explain how it makes sense from the other side of the table. Today, during the most disastrous Broncos offseason in memory—and the draft hasn't even happened yet, so settle in—I just don't have it in me. I don't think move is really defensible from a football standpoint. But what the heck: as the article above says, the Broncos are sending Cutler and a fifth-round draft pick this month to the Chicago Bears for quarterback Kyle Orton, Chicago's first-rounder in t...

Who cares?

So we finally got done with the NBA playoffs after nearly two months of stretched-out play, and tomorrow's the draft. I really couldn't care less. I'm so burned out on the sport. Sadly, there's nothing else going on worth mentioning, so we might as well get into it. (Yes, baseball, Pugs, but I haven't really started following that this year yet, sorry.) Would the NFL hold its draft five days after the Super Bowl? Of course not, and not just because the league doesn't want to distract from the highlight of its annual calendar, the Pro Bowl. Of course, the NBA's situation is a little different. College play ended two and a half months ago, and the teams want to get draftees ready for the all-important summer league play (because the kind of guys that need the summer league always end up players). Not that when college basketball is over is relevant, anyway-the league is overrun by a bunch of high school players "just months removed from their prom" (...

Did CU ever win the Pac-12?

In 2010, I bet a college buddy of mine (who longtime readers may remember as the only other contributor to Hole Punch Sports) that CU’s football team would not win the Pac-12 in the next 15 years. Guess what? It’s time for me to gloat, because I was right. Why we were doomed Back in the day, a lot of people made the argument that CU should join the Pac-12 because we’d get so much more TV money there. Of course, given college football is the answer to the question, “what if you had a sport where multiple teams were like the Yankees, and you created a whole universe of haves and have-nots?”, then yeah, you want to be aligned with some of the haves. But the question in my mind wasn’t, “will CU be better off with more money?” That’s an obvious yes. The question I asked was, will CU be any more competitive in their own conference if they’re competing against teams who are also getting more money? I couldn’t see why they would be. The mathematical angle Legend has it that Cowboys runn...