Skip to main content

Rockies take third of four from the Cubs

The Colorado Rockies beat the Chicago Cubs 11-5 tonight after the Cubs “rallied” in the ninth inning. It was the first Rockies game I’ve attended since the team won the NLCS. (What do you mean, “fair weather”?)

I went to the game with several friends from home, and we went in honor of two brothers from my neighborhood. One of them, a former HPS commenter, has just returned from a Mormon mission, and the younger is leaving town for his tomorrow (now, technically, that’s later today). Along with the group was my own younger brother, which was exciting, because we’d watched countless Rockies games at home in the late ’90s but had not been to a game together in years.

I was coming from the other side of town, so I picked up my ticket at will call, mostly ignored the instructions for how to get to my seat, then walked around to the Rockpile before realizing my seats were, ahem, on the other side of the park. Walking into a game is still an awesome feeling. There’s a tangible joy in the air you don’t feel often. Plus Coors Field, which is still the only place I’ve ever caught a major league game, is an absolute treasure in my opinion. I made it to my seat in time to snap a picture of Todd Helton standing in familiar territory after singling in the first inning to extend his hitting streak to fifteen games.


Next up was Troy Tulowitzki, the Rockies’ 24-year-old shortstop and a key member of the 2007 World Series team. Tulowitzki immediately crushed a home run to left field to give the Rockies an early 2-0 lead.

In the second inning, all sorts of cool things happened. Clint Barmes hit a home run. Yorvit Torrealba doubled, then advanced to third on a hit from pitcher Jorge De La Rosa. Dexter Fowler reached on a hit that maybe should have been an error on Cubs starter Tom Gorzelanny. When Helton got up, I started to get this feeling like I should be taping the game on my phone because something good was about to happen. Eventually Helton walked to load the bases for Tulo, who crushes an apparent grand slam, and I caught it all. Awesome! But the umps call it out, so I immediately and absentmindedly erase the clip. Then they go to check the instant replay, and I feel like a freaking idiot, before they decide that they were in fact right and Tulo did not hit a homer. Good fun. Wouldn’t be the last Tulo moment I screwed up, either. Troy ended up knocking in two runners with a single.

The Cubs shut us out for the entire third inning before giving up two more runs in the fourth, including one scored by Helton when Tulo knocked him in with a double.

The game went on, and the comfortable home-team blowout made enjoyable background fodder for conversation. In the sixth inning De La Rosa, who struck out 11 and gave up one run in 7 and 2/3, led off with a double. Meanwhile we talked about all kinds of athletes from our younger years. It’s worth nothing that, despite the preseason opener on Friday, we spent very little time on the Broncos.

When the seventh inning stretch began, I realized I needed to hurry if I was going to grab a hot dog. So my brother and I headed down right as the crowd started singing “Take Me Out to the Ball Game” (2:30). Now you need to know that this crowd, as you might expect, had a lot of Cubs fans in it. I wouldn’t say they outnumbered the Rockies boosters or anything, but you could hear them cheer pretty well whenever the Cubs did something right. Anyway, what happened next was an almost instinctive experience. Right when the song hit the first “root”, I could hear the crowd taking a collective inhale, and that’s right when it hit me, too, just in time to scream, “for the ROCK-IES!” loud enough, in my section at least, to drown out the opposing “Cubbies” fans. It was awesome.

The first concession stand I walked by offered several different kinds of hot dogs, each named after a different city and slathered, in my opinion, with all kinds of undesirable toppings. I like my cats dead and my dogs dry, so I moved around for a plainer Italian-style hot dog which ended up being kind of awful. I walk around to meet back up with Dan, and hear wild cheering and the announcers babbling something about Soriano on TV before we head back to our seats. I sit down and the fresh RM tells me, “you missed it.” I missed what? Well, Tulo hit a triple while I was gone, meaning he hit for the cycle.

The rest of the game felt kind of long. I stood to clap for De La Rosa when he left the game after a great performance. I cheered a lot for Tulo, who added another two-RBI single in the eighth. That let him finish 5-for-5 with seven RBI and two runs scored. An outstanding night. You know, the Yankees can have Derek Jeter; I just hope we hang on to Tulowitzki for a long, long time. And my bro and I got to rest our feet on the row in front of us, which just happened to be the famous “mile high” row of purple seats.


The Cubs fans got excited in the ninth, when they scored a few runs to make the final score a little less disrespectable. At one point a guy behind me changed the “Let’s Go, Rock-ies!” chant into a far more fun, “Nineteen-oh-six!” which I joined in on and is even more sweet considering the Cubs last won the World Series in 1908. I almost wish someone had corrected it…well, excuuuuuse me! Your team rocks!

Anyway, the Rockies game tonight was a freaking blast, and a great way to celebrate. If you haven’t made it to a game yet this year, I highly recommend it.

Comments

blaine said…
Man that's awesome you went to that game! Tulo has really been coming around...can you believe he's our clean-up hitter?! A shortstop?! It was great to see De La Rosa have another good game. Just like last year, he got off to a slow start, but lately (except for that last game against the Phillies) he's looked like a number 1 starter.

I've been to four games this year and they have all been a blast. I love being able to walk up to the ticket counter on a Friday evening and get a ticket for 4 freaking bucks! Say what you want about the Monforts being cheap, but that's pretty awesome. I think the rock-pile seats are actually pretty good seats too. I hope to be able to go to a few more games this year as the Rockies make their playoff run, so if you're interested Mike maybe we could meet up at the 'ol ball park.
Mike said…
Yeah, we were talking about shortstops and Nomar Garciaparra during the game and I was thinking how incredible it was that, as a shortstop, he used to hit right in the heart of the order. And there Tulo is batting cleanup and doing a great job at it. To be completely honest his numbers are kind of low for a Coors cleanup hitter, even in the humidor age, but he dominated last night. And what's cool is he's not an awesome hitter than can sort of handle shortstop, so they just stick him there, but he's also an outstanding fielder.

I don't mind sitting in the Rockpil, either; that was our original plan for Friday night, but the game sold out before we could get tickets. I think the tickets we had were only like $10 or something, and I have no complaints about them.

I didn't even get to make my traditional trip to the Rockies store, so I'd definitely be down for heading to another game some time.
The Goreman said…
Man, those are some fine looking legs on the right!

Popular posts from this blog

And now that it’s gone, it’s like it wasn’t there at all

I never thought this blog would last longer than Jay Cutler's career with the Denver Broncos. He was a talented young prospect so good that the Broncos, a powerhouse organization only one game removed from the Super Bowl the season before, traded up to get him—or, in other words, a player whose upside was so huge, the team sacrificed its present to get his future. And now? He's gone . How did it come to this? * * * Often I'll play devil's advocate with a move like this; you know, I'll try and explain how it makes sense from the other side of the table. Today, during the most disastrous Broncos offseason in memory—and the draft hasn't even happened yet, so settle in—I just don't have it in me. I don't think move is really defensible from a football standpoint. But what the heck: as the article above says, the Broncos are sending Cutler and a fifth-round draft pick this month to the Chicago Bears for quarterback Kyle Orton, Chicago's first-rounder in t...

Who cares?

So we finally got done with the NBA playoffs after nearly two months of stretched-out play, and tomorrow's the draft. I really couldn't care less. I'm so burned out on the sport. Sadly, there's nothing else going on worth mentioning, so we might as well get into it. (Yes, baseball, Pugs, but I haven't really started following that this year yet, sorry.) Would the NFL hold its draft five days after the Super Bowl? Of course not, and not just because the league doesn't want to distract from the highlight of its annual calendar, the Pro Bowl. Of course, the NBA's situation is a little different. College play ended two and a half months ago, and the teams want to get draftees ready for the all-important summer league play (because the kind of guys that need the summer league always end up players). Not that when college basketball is over is relevant, anyway-the league is overrun by a bunch of high school players "just months removed from their prom" (...

Did CU ever win the Pac-12?

In 2010, I bet a college buddy of mine (who longtime readers may remember as the only other contributor to Hole Punch Sports) that CU’s football team would not win the Pac-12 in the next 15 years. Guess what? It’s time for me to gloat, because I was right. Why we were doomed Back in the day, a lot of people made the argument that CU should join the Pac-12 because we’d get so much more TV money there. Of course, given college football is the answer to the question, “what if you had a sport where multiple teams were like the Yankees, and you created a whole universe of haves and have-nots?”, then yeah, you want to be aligned with some of the haves. But the question in my mind wasn’t, “will CU be better off with more money?” That’s an obvious yes. The question I asked was, will CU be any more competitive in their own conference if they’re competing against teams who are also getting more money? I couldn’t see why they would be. The mathematical angle Legend has it that Cowboys runn...