Skip to main content

U.S. ties; Celtics inch ahead

This weekend I caught the U.S. vs. England World Cup game, and the last minute and a half of the Lakers-Celtics game. I'm not sure which took longer. Here are some random and unorganized thoughts on each:

Soccer is like baseball with a clock. Well, baseball off steroids, anyway. There are a lot more, "hey, something could happen" moments than there are times when things actually do happen. It lends a certain tension to the proceedings; we went nuts when the U.S. goal trickled across the line. And the final minutes were tense, but not quite like normal American sports, because you never really know when the next scoring chance will develop.

That said, the clock is huge. I love that the game starts moving, keeps moving, and ends in a timely fashion. Baseball has a huge problem with this. When it's a great playoff series (like Yankees-Red Sox in the Pedro Martinez era), I don't mind, but otherwise I start to wonder about how much of my life is ticking away watching pitchers throw to first base.

Soccer is quite good on TV, and almost great. The problem is the camera angle; for any extended action they have to pan the field because the ball can move so far so quickly. They tried showing a few seconds of the game in a close-up and it got confusing really quickly. But the slow-motion replays of slide tackles or Landon Donovan shaking a defender were great. I particularly liked the first half shots of Tim Howard, the U.S. goalie, shouting at his teammates. Like basketball, the minimalist uniforms showcase the emotional side of the game. I don't expect I really will, but I can see why people get into the World Cup now.

However, I'm sure the announcers wish they could have criticized the Americans' lone goal a few hundred more times.

Speaking of Howard, he was outstanding, and kept getting better as the game went on. He and England's Steven Gerrard (all over the place in the first half) were standouts. That's impressive because outside of Jozy Altidore's breakaway scoring chance, I'm not sure I could tell you what anyone else did.

And the Celtics took Game Five for a 3-2 NBA Finals lead. My favorite part was the Garnett-to-Pierce-to-Rondo lob-toss-lay-up that kept the Celtics' lead up late. Kobe got on my nerves even more than before. I don't understand how a guy who gets as many breaks as he does can be so mad at the refs all the time.

Apparently I underestimated the Celtics and especially Rajon Rondo. Here's hoping they finish the job Tuesday...but a Game Seven would be sick as well.

Comments

John said…
I have a good friend from South Africa who is an avid sports fan. He constantly complains about watching American sports because of all of the commercials. Now that I am getting into watching soccer (World Cup and Italian Serie A, which broadcasts during the boys' weekend nap), I totally get what he means. It is great to sit down and watch a game and know exactly how long it is going to last, and exactly when the breaks in coverage are coming.

I loved watching USA-England, even if the other guys in the room knew jack about soccer. The game is good, if not great, on tv, and any action livens things up. Howard was a stud, and Altidore was all over the field. And they pulled Tommy Smyth from the broadcast booth, so no matter how bad the announcers are, we have benefitted from addition by subtraction.

But I do hate that so much of soccer seems to be actionless, and that it is acceptable to play for a tie instead of a win. I get bored watching two teams try not to give the game away for the last 30 minutes - if I liked that crap, I would watch Big 10 football. Soccer would be simply unbearable if it had baseball's complete lack of time constraints.

The Celtics' win last night was huge. Rondo is the engine that drives the team - if he plays huge, they could pull it out in LA.

Kobe is an unrepentant whiner. I love to see him lose because I know he will take it out on his teammates.
blaine said…
So people really just sit and blow a horn for 2 straight hours? Wouldn't they rather watch the game?

Aside from playing in a beehive, the USA-England match was surprisingly entertaining. Like John I was annoyed with USA settling for a draw instead of going for the win in the second half, but then again, 1 point is better than none I suppose.

The Celtics-Lakers game on Sunday was awesome until the last 2 minutes of the game when it seemed like both teams were doing everything to try to lose that game. My absolute favorite part of the game was in the third quarter when Kobe was in his 5-on-1 mode and making some ridiculous shots. He scored 19 points in the quarter and the Lakers were still down double digits. I guess he still hasn't MATURED quite enough to know you can't win a championship playing that way. It drives me crazy the way announcers were giving him so much credit for his "tenacity" and "competitive spirit". A couple of the threes he made were from 30 feet and no other Laker touched the ball. I guess one man's tenacity is another's selfishness.

Popular posts from this blog

And now that it’s gone, it’s like it wasn’t there at all

I never thought this blog would last longer than Jay Cutler's career with the Denver Broncos. He was a talented young prospect so good that the Broncos, a powerhouse organization only one game removed from the Super Bowl the season before, traded up to get him—or, in other words, a player whose upside was so huge, the team sacrificed its present to get his future. And now? He's gone . How did it come to this? * * * Often I'll play devil's advocate with a move like this; you know, I'll try and explain how it makes sense from the other side of the table. Today, during the most disastrous Broncos offseason in memory—and the draft hasn't even happened yet, so settle in—I just don't have it in me. I don't think move is really defensible from a football standpoint. But what the heck: as the article above says, the Broncos are sending Cutler and a fifth-round draft pick this month to the Chicago Bears for quarterback Kyle Orton, Chicago's first-rounder in t...

Who cares?

So we finally got done with the NBA playoffs after nearly two months of stretched-out play, and tomorrow's the draft. I really couldn't care less. I'm so burned out on the sport. Sadly, there's nothing else going on worth mentioning, so we might as well get into it. (Yes, baseball, Pugs, but I haven't really started following that this year yet, sorry.) Would the NFL hold its draft five days after the Super Bowl? Of course not, and not just because the league doesn't want to distract from the highlight of its annual calendar, the Pro Bowl. Of course, the NBA's situation is a little different. College play ended two and a half months ago, and the teams want to get draftees ready for the all-important summer league play (because the kind of guys that need the summer league always end up players). Not that when college basketball is over is relevant, anyway-the league is overrun by a bunch of high school players "just months removed from their prom" (...

Did CU ever win the Pac-12?

In 2010, I bet a college buddy of mine (who longtime readers may remember as the only other contributor to Hole Punch Sports) that CU’s football team would not win the Pac-12 in the next 15 years. Guess what? It’s time for me to gloat, because I was right. Why we were doomed Back in the day, a lot of people made the argument that CU should join the Pac-12 because we’d get so much more TV money there. Of course, given college football is the answer to the question, “what if you had a sport where multiple teams were like the Yankees, and you created a whole universe of haves and have-nots?”, then yeah, you want to be aligned with some of the haves. But the question in my mind wasn’t, “will CU be better off with more money?” That’s an obvious yes. The question I asked was, will CU be any more competitive in their own conference if they’re competing against teams who are also getting more money? I couldn’t see why they would be. The mathematical angle Legend has it that Cowboys runn...