Skip to main content

Plummer to the Bucs?

The Denver Broncos' quest to eliminate all depth in their offensive backfield continues.

ESPN.com is reporting that the Broncos are close to an agreement with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers to trade backup quarterback Jake Plummer for a draft pick, potentially a fourth-rounder.

This would be a great move for Tampa Bay. Plummer doesn't give a team what they'd want out of a generic veteran-he doesn't avoid turnovers, and he's probably not the kind of guy you want giving advice to younger players. ("How come you never throw with your left hand, Bruce?") But he did go to a conference championship a year ago, and could have a few years left as a starter in the league. If the Buccaneers can get two years of solid quarterbacking for a second-day draft pick, that's a coup. And if Plummer doesn't pan out, the Bucs will barely miss the pick.

For the Broncos, I don't really like it. I suppose I can understand why it would be tough to keep Plummer around, especially at a starter's salary. But he wouldn't be much of a distraction-he's a team guy and, more importantly, he's not that popular with the fans. Jay Cutler would really have to be awful for there to be any public outcry for Plummer.

It does make sense to show Cutler and the rest of the players that the team has confidence in their young passer. But if Cutler-who'll only be in his second year, after all-struggles, what's Plan B? The Broncos still have time to sign a veteran backup; they just won't have time to find one better than Plummer.

Comments

John said…
This trade barrage is truly bizarre. I get wanting to move Plummer, but he is far more valuable than a fourth rounder, even as a malcontented back-up. And who are we going to bring in to be the #2? Ken Karcher?

I wonder if this means Chris Sims is never coming back from his ruptured spleen . . .
Mike said…
Number 12!!!!!
Mike said…
I'd take Plummer over Simms, hands-down. I would almost even take a retired Plummer over Simms.
David said…
yeah, this is a bad move. what does a 4th rounder get you? a tommy maddox at best. oh wait...

i say keep plummer, the players like him because he's not an ego case, although for plummer's sake he probably wants to go somewhere to play, not watch a babyfaced kid who can't grow half the mustache you can struggle through his sophomore year.

i suppose its selfish to want to keep plummer around because it's not what's best for his career, but its best for the broncos, no doubt.

Popular posts from this blog

And now that it’s gone, it’s like it wasn’t there at all

I never thought this blog would last longer than Jay Cutler's career with the Denver Broncos. He was a talented young prospect so good that the Broncos, a powerhouse organization only one game removed from the Super Bowl the season before, traded up to get him—or, in other words, a player whose upside was so huge, the team sacrificed its present to get his future. And now? He's gone . How did it come to this? * * * Often I'll play devil's advocate with a move like this; you know, I'll try and explain how it makes sense from the other side of the table. Today, during the most disastrous Broncos offseason in memory—and the draft hasn't even happened yet, so settle in—I just don't have it in me. I don't think move is really defensible from a football standpoint. But what the heck: as the article above says, the Broncos are sending Cutler and a fifth-round draft pick this month to the Chicago Bears for quarterback Kyle Orton, Chicago's first-rounder in t...

Who cares?

So we finally got done with the NBA playoffs after nearly two months of stretched-out play, and tomorrow's the draft. I really couldn't care less. I'm so burned out on the sport. Sadly, there's nothing else going on worth mentioning, so we might as well get into it. (Yes, baseball, Pugs, but I haven't really started following that this year yet, sorry.) Would the NFL hold its draft five days after the Super Bowl? Of course not, and not just because the league doesn't want to distract from the highlight of its annual calendar, the Pro Bowl. Of course, the NBA's situation is a little different. College play ended two and a half months ago, and the teams want to get draftees ready for the all-important summer league play (because the kind of guys that need the summer league always end up players). Not that when college basketball is over is relevant, anyway-the league is overrun by a bunch of high school players "just months removed from their prom" (...

Did CU ever win the Pac-12?

In 2010, I bet a college buddy of mine (who longtime readers may remember as the only other contributor to Hole Punch Sports) that CU’s football team would not win the Pac-12 in the next 15 years. Guess what? It’s time for me to gloat, because I was right. Why we were doomed Back in the day, a lot of people made the argument that CU should join the Pac-12 because we’d get so much more TV money there. Of course, given college football is the answer to the question, “what if you had a sport where multiple teams were like the Yankees, and you created a whole universe of haves and have-nots?”, then yeah, you want to be aligned with some of the haves. But the question in my mind wasn’t, “will CU be better off with more money?” That’s an obvious yes. The question I asked was, will CU be any more competitive in their own conference if they’re competing against teams who are also getting more money? I couldn’t see why they would be. The mathematical angle Legend has it that Cowboys runn...