Skip to main content

Adam Foote, too

The same tipster who let me know about Peter Forsberg's return to the Colorado Avalanche just told me the Avs have acquired Adam Foote, too. I am officially excited about hockey again.

Foote was pretty awesome in the glory days, though he never had Forsberg's MVP candidate profile. I do remember he was tough, and that he always seemed to be at least the equal of our flashier pickups on the back line (Rob Blake, Ray Borque). We lost him about the same time as Forsberg, so I guess it's fitting we're getting them back together now. I don't have any good stories about Foote, but I'm pretty sure John does, and if we're lucky he'll share it in the comments...

P.S. The Avalanche schedule can be found on ESPN.com. They have games tonight and tomorrow in Canada, and I don't know yet whether Forsberg and/or Foote will play in either one. Also, thank you, ESPN, for not putting a gigantic, schedule-blocking ad across the screen the way the NHL's website does.

Comments

John said…
One of my favorite things about Adam Foote is that he used to live next door to this guy I knew in college (or, more accurately, the guy's family). He was by all reports a very cool guy who invited my friend over to see the Stanley Cup up close and personal.

But Foote was always a great player to have on the Avs - he is one of those players who it is just fun to cheer for. I am glad he is back, too.

Popular posts from this blog

And now that it’s gone, it’s like it wasn’t there at all

I never thought this blog would last longer than Jay Cutler's career with the Denver Broncos. He was a talented young prospect so good that the Broncos, a powerhouse organization only one game removed from the Super Bowl the season before, traded up to get him—or, in other words, a player whose upside was so huge, the team sacrificed its present to get his future. And now? He's gone . How did it come to this? * * * Often I'll play devil's advocate with a move like this; you know, I'll try and explain how it makes sense from the other side of the table. Today, during the most disastrous Broncos offseason in memory—and the draft hasn't even happened yet, so settle in—I just don't have it in me. I don't think move is really defensible from a football standpoint. But what the heck: as the article above says, the Broncos are sending Cutler and a fifth-round draft pick this month to the Chicago Bears for quarterback Kyle Orton, Chicago's first-rounder in t...

Who cares?

So we finally got done with the NBA playoffs after nearly two months of stretched-out play, and tomorrow's the draft. I really couldn't care less. I'm so burned out on the sport. Sadly, there's nothing else going on worth mentioning, so we might as well get into it. (Yes, baseball, Pugs, but I haven't really started following that this year yet, sorry.) Would the NFL hold its draft five days after the Super Bowl? Of course not, and not just because the league doesn't want to distract from the highlight of its annual calendar, the Pro Bowl. Of course, the NBA's situation is a little different. College play ended two and a half months ago, and the teams want to get draftees ready for the all-important summer league play (because the kind of guys that need the summer league always end up players). Not that when college basketball is over is relevant, anyway-the league is overrun by a bunch of high school players "just months removed from their prom" (...

Did CU ever win the Pac-12?

In 2010, I bet a college buddy of mine (who longtime readers may remember as the only other contributor to Hole Punch Sports) that CU’s football team would not win the Pac-12 in the next 15 years. Guess what? It’s time for me to gloat, because I was right. Why we were doomed Back in the day, a lot of people made the argument that CU should join the Pac-12 because we’d get so much more TV money there. Of course, given college football is the answer to the question, “what if you had a sport where multiple teams were like the Yankees, and you created a whole universe of haves and have-nots?”, then yeah, you want to be aligned with some of the haves. But the question in my mind wasn’t, “will CU be better off with more money?” That’s an obvious yes. The question I asked was, will CU be any more competitive in their own conference if they’re competing against teams who are also getting more money? I couldn’t see why they would be. The mathematical angle Legend has it that Cowboys runn...